University Student Commons and Activities

Instagram Facebook Flickr Linktree
Main Image - About

Our Staff

University Student Commons & Activities Staff
(aka The Commons)

David Greene
Director
dlgreene@vcu.edu

GENERAL

Marketing 

Laura O’Brien
Marketing and Special Events Manager
lbobrien@vcu.edu


Tre Straughter
straughtertr@vcu.edu

 

Student Governance
Jenaé Harrington
Advisor, Student Government Association
jdharrington@vcu.edu

Finance 
George Kelly
Associate Director, Financial ManagementDivision of Student Affairs
gpkelly@vcu.edu

Jeremy Lebling
Finance Liaison
leblingjs@vcu.edu


Emmanuel Saintil
Finance Technician
saintile@vcu.edu

 

OFFICE OF CIVIC ENGAGEMENT AND FRATERNITY & SORORITY LIFE

Dr. LaDarius Thompson
Associate Director of Civic Engagement and Fraternity & Sorority Life
ldthompson@vcu.edu

Nicole Patterson
Coordinator for Civic Engagement
nlpatterson@vcu.edu

Jessica McKee
Coordinator of Fraternity & Sorority Life
mckeej3@vcu.edu

Riley Vespoli
Coordinator of Fraternity & Sorority Life
vespolir@vcu.edu

 

FACILITIES, OPERATIONS & EVENT SERVICES

Jennifer Chapman
Associate Director of Facilities, Operations & Event Services 
jlchapman2@vcu.edu

Rochelle Upshur
Assistant Director of Facilities & Operations
upshurrj@vcu.edu

James Gross
Technical Services Manager
grossj2@vcu.edu

Joey Gremore
Coordinator of MCV Campus Facilities
jlgremore@vcu.edu

Gene Knight
Housekeeping Manager*
gaknight@vcu.edu

Yolanda James
Night Manager Housekeeping

Tyler Jarrett
Assistant Director for Event Services 
tljarrett@vcu.edu

Kelly Kitchen
Event Coordinator 
kitchenkm@vcu.edu

Ryan Pander
Event Coordinator
rbpander@vcu.edu

Savannah J. Smith
Event and Systems Coordinator
smithsj2@vcu.edu

STUDENT LEADERSHIP & ENGAGEMENT

Tommy Otterbine
Associate Director for Student Leadership & Engagement
tmotterbine@vcu.edu

Student Programming

Meghan Zapiec
Assistant Director for Student Programming & Campus Engagement
mzapiec@vcu.edu

Bria Taylor
Coordinator for Student Programming 
taylorbc7@vcu.edu

Fred Tugas
Assistant Director for Student Leadership & Engagement
fymtugas@vcu.edu

Donté Sharpe
Coordinator for Student Leadership and Governance
dsharpe2@vcu.edu

Justin Raibolt
Coordinator for Student Leadership & Civic Engagement 
jraibolt@vcu.edu

The Commons staff is a team of energetic and skilled professionals who are driven to create and deliver safe, inclusive, and educational experiences for all VCU students.  The Commons staff, including all of our housekeeping and student employees, work around the clock to keep all our buildings, events and programs running efficiently.

Student employees, graduate assistants, and our housekeeping staff are not included in this directory.  If you need to reach a specific person, please reach out to the appropriate department above. We would love to hear from you!